Login

HOME Public Access Ladyboy Forums Free for all Photography

Nikon vs Canon

A little subforum where photo nuts can compare the length of their zooms.
Learn how to frame your ladyboys!

Nikon vs Canon

Postby Jake » 16 Apr 2011, 15:56 •  [Post 1]

I was researching for a friend and happened to come across a very interesting article.. and I know its always a personal choice.. but this is worth a read

(Note: If you’re a bride or client – feel free to ignore this post. We will resume our normally scheduled programming soon!)

Hey there fellow photographers and cameraphiles! Some of you may have heard the rumor that I switched (back) to Nikon…. well, it’s true!

I’ve gotten a lot of emails asking me to explain why, so i thought I’d use this opportunity to do a little explaining and to liquidate my Canon gear.

First up… why did I switch? Actually, I started shooting weddings on Nikon gear. At the time, it was the best digital solution out there and I never really had too many complaints. But Canon released the 20d and it offered better high ISO capabilities and more megapixels at a much better price-point. So began my 6 year affair with Canon…

Canon was good to me, especially back in the day when I rocked a cropped sensor and a 35mm lens for 90% of my shoots. It was simple, reliable and dependable. Then I got a 5d. The 5d offered great high ISO features, a full frame, a nice big LCD and the worst focusing system money could buy. :(

Let me preface this next part by saying that I am a hard-core stickler for sharp images; “A little soft,” or “a little back-focused” is not ok by me. It’s tack sharp or it get’s the hose. So, as you can imagine, the 5d became quite a handicap for me. But, nonetheless, I figured out that if I only shot on One Shot and kept my aperture up, I could make in-focus photos.